Why we Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cows

I am nearing the middle of a week-long fast right now, so it feels rather peculiar to be discussing dietary preference.  However, I’ve wanted to share this book trailer for Why we Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cows for some time now, and am ecstatically working my way down a list I plan on discarding by the day’s end!

So, a friend gushed over this book and posted the trailer.  The trailer prompted me to borrow it and see for myself!  As promised, even if you’re already Vegetarian or Vegan, this remains both insightful and compelling!  I have seen many reviews which suggest this book makes the inconvenient truth of  “Carnism” more accessible to carnivores, and while that may be true, I feel its most important to focus on the unique spirit of this information – which doesn’t blame or shame an individual for their choice.  Rather, what makes this book so original, logical and compelling is that it examines our relationship to animals and diet from a cultural perspective and gets people thinking about how to take responsibility instead of blaming a faulty system for their choices.  Selective empathy is a conscious choice!

Leave a comment