A little introduction…

Eat 2 Live

Eat 2 Live

I believe in listening to synchronicity. That’s why after reading twice in the same week of the role of the fermentation process in cancer, I took note.

The first reference came from the weekly e-mail archive of an alchemy group I sometimes lurk when the topic catches my eye. The second came via my trial issue of Ode Magazine, and can be found here.

In the group’s posts I read of how oxygen-deprived cells convert to the fermentation process to better provide for their needs (what we call cancer) and yet, ironically, it is fermented foods (like Miso) that show some of the greatest promise in keeping the body from becoming dis-eased in this way. As fermented foods are known to help create and support an alkaline environment in which the cancer process is inhibited, the Ode article seemed to companion the discussion by essentially suggesting nutrition as the ultimate frontier in cancer research.

Not that I’ve ever really worried about cancer but once I read that cancer cannot survive in an alkaline environment where the blood is richly oxygenated, I wondered why I would want my body’s environment to be any other way. So I started researching. If it wasn’t clear before I quickly saw how “living to eat” can be a deadly practice. Cancer or not, an acidic diet in an increasingly acidic world can slice our genetic life expectancy by as much as half!

I immediately began implementing changes to my family’s approach to food. I wanted my children to understand that the purpose of eating is – foremost – to live.

As I feel that moderation can never be implemented through an extreme I’ve taken a gradual approach at changing our relationship to food. For example, I started with the simplest of things – replacing our table salt with Real Salt, carefully harvested, dried in the Sun, and left completely intact aside from being picked over by hand to remove the stones. Next I started using only freshly ground peppercorns and committed to using only fresh herbs whenever possible. Then I rid our cupboards of the small amount of refined white sugar we use and replaced it with better, more natural ideas like raw honey and brown rice syrup. And on like this we’ve been going, replacing the unhealthy elements of our “living” with healthier ones, ever aiming for the goal of consuming an 80/20 diet… that is, a diet that is at least 80% alkaline. no more than 20% acid…


For several years I maintained a blog named “Heavenly Cooking”. The blog received good feedback and was a place where I could share my original vegetarian recipes and interest in Astrology’s relationship to the cell salts. However, once I started to understand that a large part of an alkaline lifestyle is also based on raw and unprocessed foodstuffs I could no longer bring myself to post to a blog with “Cooking” in the title and so many recipes of my former self.

Thus, the new blog to embody my new “eat 2 live” ideal. Nothing extreme. Nothing that can be labeled one way or another. Just me, pursuing my passion for sustaining my family in an increasingly wholesome way…

Leave a Reply

